Cape Town TV – known as CTV – is a non-profit, community-based television station aimed at the greater Cape Town metropolitan area. Founded by over 200 non-profit organisations in 2006, CTV is committed to providing community access to the powerful medium of television as a tool to promote human rights, social justice and community cultural development.

We believe that access to information and the ability to communicate are fundamental human rights in the information age.

Community television ensures that all citizens have access to the information and communication channels necessary to exercise their civic rights and responsibilities, to share political, cultural, artistic, spiritual, and individual expression, and to promote a culture of human rights.

Community television has a powerful role to play in community cultural development as a means of enabling alternatives to the cultural values imposed on communities by top-down and commercially driven forms of media.

CTV is committed to engaging a wide range of community perspectives, especially those of groups that have historically been marginalized; to build a sense of community and common purpose, to promote healing and tolerance and encourage communication across barriers of race, culture, physical ability, language, class, gender, age, and sexual orientation.

The channel provides opportunities for volunteers and interns who have video production skills to hone and develop their abilities in the exciting field of television production. It also provides opportunities for NGOs, community organisations, educational institutions, sports groups and government to produce programming in partnership with video producers in order to inform, entertain and educate the people of Cape Town


CTV has received funding in the form of grants, donations, facilities, equipment and training from the following organisations:

Cape Nature
Goethe Institute
Ford Foundation
Percy Fox Foundation
Cape Film Commission
Open Society Foundation
Human Rights Foundation
Radio Netherlands Training Institute
Media Development & Diversity Agency
WP Department of Economic Development & Tourism
For funding opportunities contact us for more information.

The Board

As only non-profit organisations can be members of CTV, the Board members are drawn from their representatives attending the AGM. This community of member organisations is divided into five sectors, these being sport, education, labour, arts, media, community-based organisations (CBO) and a general category called NGO (non-government organisation) for all those which fall outside of the previous categories. Two board members are elected by each sector, with another three being elected “from the floor”, i.e. not representing any particular sector. CTV’s Station Director is also an ex-officio board member. The current board comprises the following sector representatives:
  • Lunga Guza: Chairperson
  • Elton Davids: Secretary
  • Rekang Jankie: Arts
  • Mark Weinberg: Media
  • Roscoe Williams:Education
  • Desire Goliath: NGO
  • Dellareese Hartman: Sport
  • Janap Odendaal: CBO

CTV Staff

Karen Thorne
Station Manager
Adri Williams
Finance Manager
Nobesuthu Beya
Head of News
Joan Daries
Head of Training
Neil Jagger
Traffic Manager
Mike Aldridge
Head of Technical Operations
Carlo Fredericks
Acting Programme Manager
Siphiwo Nkonki
News Coordinator
Sivuyile Matsolo
Producer: Ek Se
Yonela Masumpa
Producer: Hype It Up!
Sisanda Henda
Producer: Open Studio
Brandon Titus
On-air Scheduler, Editor
Nick Fester
Senior Editor
Aneesah Dantu
Andile Krawe
Audio Technician
Cheryl Davids
Babalwa Quma
Lungelwa Timla
Robyn Rorke
Producer – Production Services
Llama Lee Moon
Producer & Host: EkSeLive
Edna Cangolo
Assistant Bulletin Editor: Our City News
Sonke Mzana
Production Coordinator
Anthony Alexander
Driver, Maintenance
Siyanda Seybokwe
Editor, Director
Tshepo Gaboutloeloe
Director, Sound Technician